Bio

2000

We almost lose it. Burnout. Too many colliding interests and aspirations precipitate a crash – which shakes us up and sorts our minds.

Sexy Ambient

Photo: Anna Neumann

1999 – Paris!

Batofar, Radio Nova, Divan du Monde, Flèche d’Or, Hôtel Concorde Saint-Lazare, Glaz’ Art, Elysée Montmartre. The French label Buda Musique is interested in us and we’re getting more and more interested in France…

Paris 1999

Our second CD »Wer ist das?« (Who is that?) comes out in Germany.

MAX GLANER.

The record release party is too big a success … too many people turn up, and we have to leave the place. Traffic on Berlin’s Kastanienallee breaks down … we give everything! Our audience makes one hell of an impression on us…

Prater 1999

Photos: Bruno Fert, Andreas Riedel

1998 – America!

We play the South by Southwest Festival in Austin/Texas!

17 Hippies auf dem SXSW - 1998

The story about Alice in HOTEL CAZANE is a souvenir from our trip… the dissipated hotel lobby and the Zydeco club ‘Richard’s’ where we just danced and danced into the small hours.

Some years later we gave this Zydeco souvenir a new lease of life:  HOYAKA transforms the traditional ‘Bernadette’ into a piece with lyrics sung in regional Hesse dialect about an equally earthy nugget of wisdom.

SXSW-Scholzens Biergarden

Photos: Anna Neumann

1997 – We take it to the limit

Playing 18 concerts from daybreak to late at night we beat Berlin into submission by beating the ‘world record for the most concerts in 24 hours’: Tempelhof airport, the TU university refectory in Charlottenburg, the Amerika Gedenkbibliothek and the Markthalle in Kreuzberg 61 district; Café Einstein, Chamäleon and Tresor in Berlin-Mitte; Madonna and Rote Harfe in Kreuzberg 36, then Ex ’n Pop in Schöneberg, plus eight other venues scattered around the city.

Madonna 1997

We record (lets say compile) our first CD at Berlin’s legendary BEAT STUDIO. Legendary, as probably every Berlin Band that has spoken up in town, gets to record here.

One of our favorites: KING ARTHUR’S LIVER

To get people to notice our CD we get our own distribution going. Kiki and Dirk walk our recordings from shop to shop … what a surprise, with the end of the year we have to go and manufacture a second edition!

Photo:?

1996 – We choose pieces that are easy to learn

We look for tunes none of us know and discover that pieces with cryptic titles like BOURRÉE DITE D’AURORE SAND (simple tune, easy chords and a straightforward 4/4 rhythm) can be turned into dynamite dancefloor hits.

Bandfoto 1996

In Fellini’s 81/2, behind the roar of the sea we pick out SARAGINA RUMBA, one of our favourite tunes and one that will always haunt us…

Our tiny rehearsal room under Tempelhof airbase is on the verge of bursting; we move to the MS “Pik AS” for more room, friends … and air!

Pik Ass 1996

Photos: Andreas Riedel, Anna Neumann

1995 – 17 HIPPIES, that’s what we’re called

No one really knows why exactly seventeen or why even hippies. But having a name is good, like a road sign announcing a town – it tells you where you are. No one has any idea what’s coming up after the town sign, nor has anyone worked out what we’re supposed to be doing or even where the 17 HIPPIES are heading. One of the first songs we ever played is called VALSE À CADET.

Der Anfang 1995

We get together once a week and everyone involved is meant – if possible – to play some instrument other than the one he normally does. This is how we ended up with ukulele, banjo, bagpipes and accordion – and not, say, bass guitar, guitar, drums and piano. We notice how immediate and vigorous the acoustic sound is.

The idea is to be able to perform anywhere without amplification.

ANYWHERE !!!

1995

Photos: Privat

Bio

2000

…gehen wir fast über den Jordan. Burn-out. Zu unterschiedliche Interessen und Vorstellungen führen zu einem Crash, der die Köpfe neu sortiert.

Sexy Ambient

Photo: Anna Neumann

1999 – Paris!

Batofar, Radio Nova, Divan du Monde, Flèche d’Or, Hôtel Concorde Saint-Lazare, Glaz’Art, Elysée Montmartre. Das französische Label Buda Musique interessiert sich für uns und wir interessieren uns mehr und mehr für Frankreich…

Paris 1999

In Deutschland erscheint unsere zweite CD »Wer ist das?«. MAX GLANER.

Die Record-Release-Party wird vom Prater-Garten auf die Straße verlegt, weil viel zu viele Leute kommen! Der Verkehr auf der Kastanienallee kommt zum erliegen und alle geben alles! Von unserem Publikum sind wir ein mal mehr zutiefst beeindruckt…

Prater 1999

Photos: Bruno Fert, Andreas Riedel

1998 – Amerika!

Wir spielen das South by Southwest Festival in Austin/Texas!

17 Hippies auf dem SXSW - 1998

Zu neunzehnt treten wir in diversen Clubs und auf der Eröffnungsveranstaltung nach Nick Lowe auf. Wir machen einen Abstecher in die Sümpfe Louisianas und nach Mamou.

Die Geschichte von Alice in HOTEL CAZANE ist ein Mitbringsel von dieser Reise: die verlebte Hotel-Lobby und der Zydeco Club »Richard’s«, in dem wir zu später Stunde noch tanzen und tanzen.

Einige Jahre danach lassen wir dieses Zydeco-Souvenir erneut aufleben: HOYAKA verwandelt das traditionelle »Bernadette« in ein Stück mit hessischem Text und ebensolcher bodenständiger Weisheit.

SXSW-Scholzens Biergarden

Photos: Anna Neumann

1997 – Wir wollen’s wissen

Mit 18 Konzerten legen wir am 17. Oktober Berlin flach – der »Weltrekord der meisten Konzerte innerhalb von 24 Stunden«: Flughafen Tempelhof, TU-Mensa in Charlottenburg, Amerika Gedenkbibliothek und Markthalle in Kreuzberg 61, Café Einstein, Chamäleon und Tresor in Mitte, Madonna und Rote Harfe in Kreuzberg 36, Ex’n Pop in Schöneberg und 8 weitere Konzerte überall in der Stadt.

Madonna 1997

Und wir nehmen unsere erste CD »Rock’n’Roll 13« im legendären Beatstudio auf. Legendär weil wohl so ziemlich jede Berliner Band, die mal einen Wettbewerb vom Berliner Senat gewonnen hat, dort aufnehmen durfte.

Eines unserer liebsten Stücke damals: KING ARTHUR’S LIVER

Um die CD unter die Leute zu bringen wird kurzerhand ein eigener Vertrieb gegründet. Kiki und Dirk klappern die Berliner Plattenläden ab und schwatzen den Händlern die CD auf… wieder erwartend funktioniert das ganze glänzend und bis Ende des Jahres ist die zweite Auflage fällig.

Photo:?

1996 – Wir spielen Stücke, die man schnell lernt

Wir suchen nach Melodien, die keiner von uns kennt und finden heraus, dass Stücke mit kryptischen Titeln wie BOURRÉE DITE D’AURORE SAND (einfache Melodie, einfache Akkorde und einfacher Rhythmus im vier/viertel-Takt) zu wahren Tanzbodenkrachern werden können.

Bandfoto 1996

In Fellinis »81/2« entdecken wir hinterm Meeresrauschen SARAGINA RUMBA, eine Lieblingsmelodie, der wir nicht mehr entkommen werden…

Unser winziger Proberaum im Keller vom Flughafen Tempelhoft fängt an, aus allen Nähten zu krachen. Wir machen erste öffentliche Proben auf dem Motorschiff Pik As. Mehr Luft!

Pik Ass 1996

Photos: Andreas Riedel, Anna Neumann

1995 – 17 HIPPIES, das ist jetzt der Name

Keiner weiß so richtig, warum diese Zahl und warum diese Bezeichnung. Aber ein Name ist gut, der steht wie ein Ortsschild da und man weiß, wo man ist. Keiner macht sich eine Vorstellung davon, was hinter diesem Ortsschild kommt und keiner denkt darüber nach, was wir da genau machen oder was die 17 HIPPIES überhaupt mal werden sollen. Eines der ersten Stücke heisst VALSE À CADET.

Der Anfang 1995

Wir treffen uns jede Woche und jeder, der mitmacht, soll wenn’s geht ein anderes Instrument spielen als er normalerweise spielt. So kommt es zu Ukulele, Banjo, Dudelsack und Akkordeon – eben nicht E-Bass, E-Gitarre, Schlagzeug und Piano. Wir merken, wie unmittelbar und direkt akustischer Klang ist.

Die Idee ist: unverstärkt überall spielen zu können. ÜBERALL !!!

1995

Photos: Privat